Father Ryan announces new inductees to Hall of Fame

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

The second class to be inducted into the Father Ryan High School Athletics Hall of Fame, including 18 athletes, two coaches, five teams and two contributors, has been announced.

“This is a legendary athletic program with achievements that span 10 decades,” said Director of Athletics Ann Mullins. “It has been such a moving experience these last two years to learn about all of our nominees and be reminded not only of what they accomplished athletically but also what they have contributed to this community, city and country. 

“I thank the Hall of Fame Selection Committee for their outstanding work and look forward to celebrating these men and women later this year,” she added.

The 2020 class will be formally inducted during a virtual celebration to be scheduled later this year.

The new inductees, the year they graduated, and their sports include:

• Athletes: Kay Batey ’74, basketball; John Burns ’44, basketball, football; Elaine Derrick Bryan ’92, basketball, cross country, soccer, softball; Carl Crain ’75, basketball; Pete Curley ’32, basketball, football; Tom Curley ’61, basketball, football, track and field; Jim Derrick ’62, baseball, basketball, football; Angela Rohling Gregory ’98, basketball, track and field, volleyball; Frank Halliburton ’59, basketball, football, track and field; J.B Hatley ’37, baseball, basketball, football; Billy Hudson ’58, baseball, basketball, football; Jim Miller ’82, football; Joe Miller ’62, football, track and field; Tom Morales ’72, football, wrestling; Kelly Cockerham Reilly ’93, basketball, volleyball; Chris Dacri Wantz ’88, golf; Tim Wilson ’72, football, wrestling; Eric Wood ’72, football, wrestling.

• Teams: 1927 State Champion Basketball Team; 1974 State Champion Wrestling Team; 1997 State Champion Football Team; 1998 State Champion Boys Soccer Team; 1999 State Champion Volleyball Team.

• Coaches: John Gorham ’54, girls basketball; Bobby Garmon ’65, wrestling.

• Contributors: Murray Lynch ’55, coach and administrator; John Spore ’64, teacher, counselor.

This year’s inductees, after the 2019 inaugural class of 34 athletes, six coaches, seven teams and three contributors, brings the total membership of the Hall of Fame to 77. 

The full list of inductees and information about nominating candidates is available at www.fatherryan.org/hof.

Subscribe to our email list

Keep your finger on the pulse of Catholic life in Middle Tennessee by subscribing to the
weekday E-Register here.

* indicates required